Speech and Debate Sends 20 To States and 4 To Nationals

Congratulations to the 20 students who have qualified for the National Speech and Debate Association’s state tournament. One student qualified in two categories. An additional student qualified as an alternate.
Caitrina Barton ’21 and Brinn MacLellen ’21– Duo Interpretation
Sophia DiPuccio ’19– Dramatic Interpretation
Faith Smolik ’22- Dramatic Interpretation     
Sami Sargi ’20- Humorous Interpretation
Emma Kaplan ’19– Informative Speaking
Mollie Edmondson ’21– Informative Speaking
Andrew Mayer ’22- Informative Speaking
Jackson Sturtevant ’21–Lincoln-Douglas Debate
Lena DiPuccio ’20– Original Oratory
Clara Morgan ’22– Original Oratory
Madison Wagner ’19– Original Oratory
Teeba Marolowe ’21– Original Oratory
Joe Rottinghaus ’21 and John Lewis ’20– Public Forum Debate
Eric Brandt ’21 - Student Congress
Gwen Mascha ’21– Student Congress
Cayla See ’21– Student Congress
Allie Mikolanis ’19– United States Extemporaneous and Student Congress
Giovanna Piedimonte ’22– Prose Poetry Interpretation (alternate)
Four of these students have also qualified for the national tournament, which will be held in Dallas from June 16-21. Congratulations to the following students:
Mollie Edmondson ’21– Informative Speaking
Sophia DiPuccio ’19– Dramatic Interpretation
Allie Mikolanis ’19– Student Congress
Gwen Mascha ’21– Student Congress
Additionally, the following students have qualified as alternates for the national tournament:
Emma Kaplan ’19– Informative Speaking (1st alternate)
Teeba Marolowe ’21– Original Oratory (1st alternate)
Cayla See ’21– Big Question Debate (2nd alternate)
Madison Wagner ’19– Original Oratory (3rd alternate)

Mailing Address

34001 Cedar Road, Gates Mills, Ohio 44040
phone: (440) 473-8000

Campus Addresses
An independent, Catholic, coed, day and boarding school in the Holy Cross tradition. Toddler-grade 12.