2018 Senior Awards

On April 25, we recognized the accomplishments of our seniors at the annual Senior Awards ceremony.

Pictured are the winners of the highest honor - the Gilmour Trophies - Arianna Mack '18 and Zachary Holtz '18. The Gilmour Trophies are presented each year to the graduating male and female who "best exemplify all those qualities that Gilmour hopes to nurture in all students." View photos from the ceremony.

Speech Awards
Level of Honor: John Kunzo, Arianna Mack and Matt Mangel
Level of Excellence: Bradley Bares, Maddy Hillard and Lauriel Powell
Degree of Distinction: Rajeel Zafar
Degree of Special Distinction: Jacob Bartell and Ryan Kastelic
Degree of Outstanding Distinction: Sabrina Bauman and Zach Holtz
Degree of Premier Distinction (top level recognized by NSDA): Sebastian Williams

Distinguished Musician Award
Andrew Sieminski

Outstanding Artist Award
Katie Forsythe

Foreign Language Awards
For achievements in Spanish, Latin and Mandarin: Jein Lee

Lance Award (most significant contributions to student newspaper)
Da-Eun (Kathy) Jung

Yearbook Award (for major contribution to yearbook program)
Jack Aleva

John Gale Distinguished Scholar(top language arts students)
Paige Cone and Sebastian Williams

Holy Cross Literature Awards (act as agents of change and raise bar for those around them)
Andrew Casa and Da-Eun (Kathy) Jung

The William G. Moore II English Award (most outstanding literature student)
Ava Thomas

Mingyuan (Frank) Zhang

Oliver Seikel Award for Excellence in Science
(academic excellence, unquenchable thirst for knowledge demonstrated through research, sets and achieves lofty goals)
Qiyao (Catherine) Liang

Paul Primeau Science Award
(best exemplifies competence, scholarship and commitment to study of science)
Bradley Bares

AP Physics Award
Mingyuan (Frank) Zhang

AP Biology Award
Ava Thomas

Biology Award
Marisa Salvino

Thomas Jefferson Award (Government)
Sarah Bohn, Paige Cone, Arianna Mack and Owen O’Toole

Thomas Jefferson Award (AP Government)
Ryan Kastelic, Qiyao (Catherine) Liang, Leona Ng and Sebastian Williams

National Merit Finalists
Matt Mangel and Leona Ng

Phi Beta Kappa
Qiyao (Catherine) Liang

Thomas P. Mulligan Award
(healthy intellectual curiosity, and an honest appreciation for the individual talents and capabilities of his/her peers and associates)
Sabrina Bauman

The Dennis Hoynes Award ( Outstanding Male and Female Scholar-Athlete)
Owen O’Toole and Ava Thomas

Charles A. Mooney (Outstanding Male and Female Athletes)
Dylan Henry and Nazahrah Hillmon
Robert B. Tomaro Honor Award
(Gilmour senior with keen mind, sense of justice, passion for doing what is right, and who most closely mirrors Mr. Tomaro’s commitment to the growth and success of the Academy)
Isabella Caruso

Murlan J. Murphy Leadership Award
(senior who has demonstrated leadership qualities within Gilmour community that exemplify Holy Cross values)
Benjamin Grandstaff

Brother David Baltrinic Award (scholarship, compassion and service)
Grazia DiPierro

Brother Robert A. Kelly, C.S.C. Outstanding Student Service Award
Lily Switka

Saint Brother Andre Award (transformational impact of service)
Andrew Casa and Maria Savani
Charles Murray Student Humanitarian Award (students who personify the Gilmour mission)
Pyper McDowell

Chaplain’s Awards
Sabrina Bauman, Carli Calabrese, Devin Fedele,
Danielle Porter, Dominick Scimone and Gianna Zucker
Brother James O’Donnell Campus Residency Award
(senior or post-grad residence hall student who has demonstrated strong performance in the classroom, in extracurriculars and in involvement in residence hall community)
Meijuan (Meimei) Cao and Joseph Saracena

Director of the Upper School Award
Drexel Feeling, Maddy Hillard, John Kunzo, Tyler Leroux, Olivia Nestor, Lauriel Powell, Peyton Rudman, Marisa Salvino, Trevor Stokes and Clayton Tomasek

Brother Theophane Schmitt Trophies (most outstanding school spirit)
Isabel Greene and Matthew Roddy

Gilmour Trophies (seniors who best exemplify all those qualities that Gilmour hopes to nurture in all students)
Zachary Holtz and Arianna Mack

Mailing Address

34001 Cedar Road, Gates Mills, Ohio 44040
phone: (440) 473-8000

Campus Addresses
An independent, Catholic, coed, day and boarding school in the Holy Cross tradition. Toddler-grade 12.